Canadian Fiction Bestseller

Dark August becomes a Canadian Fiction Bestseller in The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star.

Book Review (Criminal Element)

“…a complex, character-driven thriller … A fine debut from novelist Katie Tallo, marking her as someone to watch for in the future.” Click here for the full review.

Book Review (Shelf Awareness)

Dark August is part murder mystery, part big fraud in a small town, and all engrossing … a finely crafted debut novel with an emphatic reminder that people who get knocked down can always get back up.” Click here for the full review.

July Mystery Roundup (Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star)

“At once brutal and beautiful, “Dark August” offers multiple pleasures and heralds the arrival of an author of great promise.” Click here for the full review.

Best Books of July (Apple Books Review)

“Tallo’s visually descriptive style makes every scene of her dark mystery unfold like a perfectly crafted movie. We were pretty much biting our lip waiting to find out if Gus would crack the case or if powerful, malevolent forces standing in her way would prevail.” Click here for the full review.

July Book Panel (CBC Radio’s All in a Day)

“Nothing deters Gus. She’s just a wonderful character … it’s a cinematic read, there’s definitely danger and thrill en route.” — Ann Archer, Ottawa Public Library Click here to listen to the full review.

Loneliness, Lies and a Dog Named Levi (The Big Thrill)

In this exclusive interview, Tallo chats with The Big Thrill about the empowerment of the poignant Gus Monet, how her dog Levi became a central character, and her debut novel’s message. Click here for the full interview.

Entertaining Novels to Read This Summer (The Mississauga News)

“… definitely falls into that “difficult to put down” category, but I did put it down, begrudgingly, in order to make it last longer … Dark August isn’t just an exceptional mystery, it is also a very good dog story. Doesn’t get much better than that. Highly recommended!” Click here to read the full review.

10 Crime Novels About Returning Home (Crime Reads)

“I’m also a writer of dark thrillers which makes my oh-so-normal and kind of uneventful hometown experience somewhat fertile ground for the oh-so-macabre and kind of twisted stories that I’m fond of writing.” — Author, Katie Tallo. Click here for the full article.

21 New Mystery and Thrillers You Won’t Stop Thinking About This Summer (Parade)

“In this epic mystery-thriller combo, no one is to be trusted as Gus uncovers long-buried secrets all packed with small town corruption and murder.” Click here for the full article.

Book Review (Girly Book Club)

“It has all the makings of a fast-paced, thrilling “who done it” and I highly recommend Hollywood make this! … one of the best mysteries I have read in a long time.” — Caitlin Winkler. Click here for the full review.

Book Review (Cloud Lake Literary)

“DARK AUGUST is an exquisite debut that is sure to have readers holding their breath as the plot develops and more twists are unveiled.” — Kaylie Seed (@kaylieseed on Instagram) Click here for the full review.

Book Review (Red Carpet Crash)

“A solid thriller with a determined strong female character in Gus. Twists and turns and flashbacks keep the reader engaged throughout the story, right up to the climatic reveal.” Click here for the full review.

Book Review (Jessicamap Reviews)

“This year just keeps hitting us with great debut novels! DARK AUGUST by Katie Tallo is a new thriller/suspense and I already can’t wait to see what she’ll release next.” Click here for the full review.

The Month’s Best Debuts: 8 Debut Novels You Should Read This June (Crime Reads)

“Tallo’s debut heralds the entrance of a promising new voice to noir and thriller writing.” Click here for the full article.

Best Books of the Month (Liz & Lisa)

Click here for more information.

Book Review (Edinburgh News)

“… Katie Tallo has turned her hand to a very good thriller/mystery … Young Augusta (Gus) Monet … stumbles on her disgraced police-detective mother’s files of an unsolved crime and is gradually drawn into its multi-tentacled and dangerous depths. Gus is flawed but sympathetic and feisty, and you grow to root for her … and there is a most wonderful dog, too!”- Bridget from Books on Beechwood. Click here for the full review.

Booklist Starred Review

“This truly inspired piece of writing, reminiscent of William Faulkner … a mystery of epic proportions … Highly recommended for mystery fans, as well as devotees of Margaret Atwood and Alice Munro.” – Jane Murphy. Click here for the full review.

Publishers Weekly Review

“Screenwriter and director Tallo makes her debut with an engrossing mystery … Distinctive characters and an intricate plot will keep readers turning the pages. Tallo is off to a promising start.” Click here for the full review.

Peter Heller, NYT bestselling author of The Dog Stars

“Augusta ‘Gus’ Monet is destined to become our next beloved investigator … What elevates Tallo’s galloping story is the freshness of the writing, and the deep explorations of character. An imaginative thriller –as much about family, loss, greed, and a young woman’s attempt to find a place in the world, as it is about solving a long buried mystery.”

Lisa Gabriele, international bestselling author of The Winters

Dark August is a tightly-paced cauldron of a thriller about small town corruption, murder and mayhem, in the vein of Sharp Objects and All The Missing Girls. A macabre and confidently twisty debut.”

Indigo Staff Review (4.5 Stars)

“A very entertaining read, made even more fun by being set in locations that are very familiar to me. The plotting, the characters and the final reveals all work really well.”

GoodReads & Instagram (Excerpts from Readers’ Reviews)

@itstori27reads “… if you are a fan of the ‘dark past’ thriller, I would highly recommend you pick this one up on June 30, 2020!”

@skkryszak “… chilling suspense and gripping storylines that throw you for an absolute loop!”

@owl._.books “Amazing debut novel … If you enjoy mysteries, you definitely want to check this one out.”

@pipergoodeve (who narrated the audiobook) “This is hands down one of the best books I have ever read. I can’t stop thinking about it and the characters! Can’t wait for everyone to experience it!”

Ashley on GoodReads, “Fantastic plot, great world building, and beautiful wrap up to the story and characters.”

Tina Wright on GoodReads, “… a captivating and well-crafted suspense novel that was hard to put down.”

Kristi on GoodReads, “The story telling is amazing and the characters are real. Lots of twists and turns.”

Jamie Trauth on GoodReads, “This was engaging from the beginning and the end created the exact twist that makes for a great novel. It was unexpected and the writing superb.”

Jill Burgin on GoodReads, “Wonderful crime novel, artfully told in a distinctly different style which makes it more of lyrical literary masterpiece.”

@whatjenreads “A fantastic debut! This was incredibly well written and suspenseful. I was thoroughly perplexed by the mystery and enjoyed the first hand seat as it unraveled.”

Cheryl on GoodReads, “Very enjoyable … Did I just read a thriller with no cheating spouse?? Where the villain isn’t someone who shows up in the last 5 pages?? Yes, I did!”

@alexsinclair21 “Dark August is the perfect blend of a tender, literary, character-driven work of fiction, and a heart-racing, spooky mystery all rolled into one.”

@jamiebanks “… such a great build and then the last third was a fast ride down a country road. Dust and blaring music. Loved the dog – Levi, side kick.”

Jan Fore on GoodReads, “This narrative is a brilliant work of literary fiction … Tallo is a screenwriter and director. This is her first published work of fiction, a worthy summer read.”

Kimberly Young on GoodReads, “I was completely mesmerized by this novel … such an original plot. I love the character(s) of Gus and Levi. They are two of favorite characters I’ve ever read …”.

@kelsmuldoon “Dark August is an exceptional debut! … Katie Tallo’s writing and style left me continuously wanting to keep reading … I literally stayed up all night finishing it. I haven’t devoured a book like that in a while.”

Nancy McFarlane on GoodReads, “Dark August totally took me by surprise … I was surprised at what a terrific mystery this ended up being … And, I was really surprised to find out this was a debut novel.”

Catherine on GoodReads, “I don’t know how Katie Tallo did it, but I felt like I was really living the life of Gus while reading this book!”

Mike on GoodReads, “The novel’s main character, Gus, is slightly rough around the edges, extremely likeable and relentless. You can’t help to cheer her on … Don’t wait until August to read this book!”

Back to Top